Bug #1210

I chose to work on processing.js bug #1210 for my 0.3 release. This bug was not a very difficult bug. The bug was filed with an example program and a solution that made it easy to understand. I chose this bug because I had prior knowledge of javascript arrays, and the splice function when I worked on a bug with the ArrayList constructor. The bug fix was easy, but it was important to submit tests to keep subset from breaking again. There were no exixting tests for subset, so when subset stopped working, no one was aware of it. Finding sections of code that have no tests are important bugs to file. When a project lacks test coverage, people are only made aware of bugs when they go to use the code, and it does not behave the way expected. Some example tests were posted, and I also replecated similiar tests that are found in the splice test file. So now I’ll submit that bug for review to see if I covered enough in my tests.

This entry was posted in open source. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment